3 Major Types of Astrology to Help You Understand Your True Zodiac Sign

Western, Indian, and Chinese astrology approaches are the 3 main types that can help you understand your true zodiac sign.

Astrologists believe that the positions of the stars and planets at the time of our birth can bring many insights to our life sch as knowledge, luck, or love. That is why many people are enthusiastic to know about their zodiac signs and use them as a way to understand more about themselves, guide them in their successes, and overcome trials. But before you can truly appreciate zodiac signs, you must be aware that there are at least 3 major types of astrology featuring different zodiac signs. It is up to you to decide which one you prefer to follow. They are listed below.

Western astrology

Western astrology is the most popular of the 3 major types of astrology. Many people follow this one because figuring out a zodiac sign in this astrology is very easy. The zodiac signs in western astrology are termed as the sun or star signs. To know your sun sign, all you have to do is look at your birth date and find which specific sun sign falls under it. Under this type of astrology, there are about 12 different zodiac signs. They are as follows, with their corresponding dates:

Aries – March 21 to April 19
Taurus – April 20 to May 20
Gemini – May 21 to June 20
Cancer – June 21 to July 22
Leo – July 23 to August 22
Virgo – August 23 to September 22
Libra – September 23 to October 22
Scorpio – October 23 to November 21
Sagittarius – November 22 to December 21
Capricorn – December 22 to January 19
Aquarius – January 20 to February 18
Pisces – February 19 to March 20

Indian astrology

The zodiac signs in Indian astrology, whether Hindu, Jyotisa or Vedica, are more or less the same as the Western astrology’s zodiac signs, though they are named differently. The only difference is the location of the zodiac signs in the sky. This is because Indian astrology analyzes the stars’ movement. The following are its zodiac signs with their western zodiac signs counterpart:

Mesa “ram” – Aries
Vrsabha “bull” – Taurus
Mithuna “twins” – Gemini
Karka “crab” – Cancer
Simha “lion” – Leo
Kanya “girl” – Virgo
Tula “balance” – Libra
Vrscika “scorpion” – Scorpio
Dhanus “bow” – Sagittarius
Makara “sea-monster” – Capricorn
Kumbha “pitcher” – Aquarius
Mina “fish” – Pisces

Chinese astrology

In Chinese astrology, the zodiac signs are not based on the constellations or of the ecliptic sections. Instead, they are named after animals and with an interval of one sun year and one lunar month (based on the Chinese calendar) for each sign. This means that within a year only one Chinese zodiac sign rules and that it will take about 11 years for it to rule again. The twelve zodiacs are the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster, dog, and pig.

There is no restriction for which type of astrology and zodiac sign you will follow. You can even read more about them all to understand even more details about you.


About cleffairy

Recently having fascination with ancient history.
This entry was posted in Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s