Fire, Earth, Air, Water

“Dreams are not without meaning wherever they may come from. From fantasy, from the elements, or from other inspiration.” –Paracelsus, 16th century physician, astrologer, and alchemist.

Modern science has replaced the traditional four elements Paracelsus studied; fire, air, earth, and water—with the periodic table. However, the old framework maintains a strong cultural hold.

If you are to ask anyone who knows me today… the people who surrounds me today, they would described my element as being ‘fire’, for I am fiery, passionate, and spirited. They would tell you that I sound bitter, angry, unsatisfied, and quite a shrew. Fire that burns. That’s what they will tell you.

But did you know, that none of those whom I grew up with, including my own parents will tell you that I am a fiery person? 8 years back…ask any of those who was in my little social circle, they would tell you that I can be likened to the element water and air.

I was carefree, happy-go-lucky, couldn’t care less, and always truthful to myself. I was cool and nonchalant, and lets the world take care of itself. And like water, I take the shape of the container. I blend well with my surroundings.

They say… I shine the most when I’m myself.. the the calm, cool water, and I seems to dance in the air whenever there’s a hurricane around me. I wonder if they were just fibbing, but since majority described me as such, I have come to believe them.

From water to fire…elementally and chemically impossible, but that’s what happened to me. Life has roughen me up. I become rather reserved, bitter…fiery… careful of my surrounding, and swear to burn those who dares to betray me. An autopilot, protective mechanism, I suppose, because… once bitten twice shy. Plus…I am on my own. Nobody would protect me, stand up for me or shield me from harm, or heartbreaks.

I long to be the water that I used to be, cool, carefree, calming, and the earthly kind of person who nurture the seeds into trees, but I think it’s far too late for that now. The life’s fire had naught but turned me into a flame.

Cleffairy:

My candle burns at both ends;

It will not last the night;

But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends—

It gives a lovely light.

My candle burns at both ends;
It will not last the night;
But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends—
It gives a lovely light.
About cleffairy

Recently having fascination with ancient history.
This entry was posted in A Penny For Your Thoughts, Time Heals What Love And Reason Cannot. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fire, Earth, Air, Water

  1. kathy says:

    entah la…maybe as we grow older we sees too many nasty stuff so tend to change our “element”.

    • cleffairy says:

      Yea…things change, including ourself. We might not like it, but we have to face the fact that if we don’t, we’ll be destroyed, no?

Leave a Reply

